157 categories of spirits tasted

21 March 2020


The Lyon International Competition has 157 categories for tasting spirits. Categories include: Whiskeys, Bourbon, Brandies, Soju, Shochu, Baijiu, Gin, Vodka, Rums, Cachaça, punches, cocktails, liquorice-flavoured drinks, creams, liqueurs and sherries.
The competition follows strict rules concerning its organisation, optimal storage conditions, classification of spirits based on numerous criteria, blind tasting, verification of the tasters selected, a 100-point marking scale, etc.
This diversity means consumers can rely on the Concours International de Lyon, its tasting and medals, to guide them in their choices of spirits.

register

The Competition’s commitments


Jurors’ expertise

More information

Communication on all fronts

More information

Influential, committed partners

More information

Famous honorary presidents

More information

Official validation and verifications

More information

Marketing tools

More information

Professionals in the field guarantee conformity of the sample, while enlightened amateurs represent consumer tastes.

Testimonials


Tasting spirits is not easy, but what a pleasure to do so under such optimal conditions: the hall is well-lit, all is calm and concentration, and the spirits are well classified. The tasting sheet is concise and easy to use. I enjoy participating in this tasting because there are always some nice surprises and things to discover!

Ludwig CORDELIER

Master Sommelier
Wine merchant

It’s always a pleasure to come to the Lyon International Competition tasting. The venue is ideal for a well-organised, serious, serene tasting. This tasting is different from wine-tasting. You take just a drop of the product, click your tongue to spread it all around the inside of the mouth, then spit it out and attribute a mark. You have to drink a lot of water with each sip to reestablish the pH of your saliva. I start with the brandies that have the least alcohol, then I taste the calvados, gins, etc. It’s really a special moment because the products we taste here are straightforward, well-defined and faultless.

Maryse ALLAROUSSE

Meilleur Sommelier de France 1980
Demi-finaliste du Meilleur Sommelier du Monde 1992

I have been tasting spirits for Armonia for a few years now. It’s an exercise I find a bit more complex than commenting wines, and as a result that much more stimulating and enriching. Spirits are an up-and-coming sector, so it’s indispensable for sommeliers to continue their training in this area. The international nature of the competition has led me to make some astonishing discoveries. Since the last tasting, for example, I have had the taste of an exceptional Mirabelle plum brandy on the tips of my taste buds...

Caroline DAESCHLER

Sommelier

Each year it’s a real pleasure to taste the selections of the Lyon International Competition.
I’m a wine taster, and for me the competition really provides a great opportunity to compare domains within a single vintage and thus get to know our vineyard better.
Tasting brandies and spirits is more technical and requires greater concentration, but tasters are rewarded with the many discoveries they make and the olfactory voyages this fascinating exercise takes them on.

Laurent DERHE

Meilleur Ouvrier de France Sommellerie 2007
Président de l’Association des Sommeliers Lyonnais et Rhône-Alpes

1

157 catégories de spiritueux dégustés

21 mars 2020


Le Concours International de Lyon propose 157 catégories de spiritueux. Sont donc dégustés les Wiskhy, Bourbon, Eaux de vie, Soju, Shochu, Baijiu, Gin, Vodka, Rhums, Cachaça, punchs, cocktails, anisés, crèmes, liqueurs et vins de Jerez.
Le concours répond à des règles strictes d’organisation, avec des conditions de stockages optimales, un classement des spiritueux qui prend en comptes de nombreux critères, une dégustation à l’aveugle, un contrôle des dégustateurs choisis, une grille de notation sur 100 …
Cette diversité de catégories permet de proposer aux consommateurs de nouveaux produits dégustés et médaillés au Concours International de Lyon, pour les guider dans leurs choix de spiritueux.

s'inscrire

Les engagements du Concours


Expertise des jurés

En savoir plus

Une communication sur tous les fronts

En savoir plus

Des partenaires forts et impliqués

En savoir plus

Des présidents d'honneur de renom

En savoir plus

Validation officielle et contrôles

En savoir plus

Outils marketing

En savoir plus

Les professionnels de la filière garantissent la conformité de l’échantillon, les amateurs éclairés représentent le goût du consommateur.

Témoignages


Déguster des alcools n'est pas chose aisée, mais quel plaisir de le faire dans des conditions aussi optimales : la salle est lumineuse, le calme et la concentration règnent, le classement des alcools est bien fait. La fiche de dégustation est concise, facile à utiliser. J'aime participer à cette dégustation, car il y a toujours des bonnes surprises, des découvertes !

Ludwig CORDELIER

Maître Sommelier
Caviste

C’est toujours avec plaisir que je viens déguster au Concours International de Lyon. L’endroit est propice à la dégustation bien organisée, dans le calme et faite avec beaucoup de sérieux. Cette dégustation est différente de celle des vins. On prend une petite goutte du produit, on claque la langue afin de tapisser les parois de la bouche, on recrache et ensuite on note. Il faut boire beaucoup d’eau à chaque gorgée, pour refaire le PH de la salive. Je commence par les eaux de vie les plus légères en alcool, puis les calvados , le Gin etc. C’est un grand moment on retrouve des produits francs, bien typés et sans défaut.

Maryse ALLAROUSSE

Meilleur Sommelier de France 1980
Demi-finaliste du Meilleur Sommelier du Monde 1992

Je déguste depuis quelques années les spiritueux pour Armonia. C’est un exercice que j’estime un peu plus complexe que le commentaire du vin, et par conséquent d’autant plus stimulant et enrichissant. Les « spis » sont un secteur en plein renouveau, et il est donc indispensable pour un sommelier de poursuivre sa formation en la matière. L’aspect international du concours m’a permis d’étonnantes découvertes. De ma dernière dégustation, il me reste sur le bout des papilles une eau-de-vie de mirabelle exceptionnelle…

Caroline DAESCHLER

Sommelière

C’est un vrai plaisir, chaque année de déguster les sélections du Concours International de Lyon.
Autant pour les vins, la chance du dégustateur que je suis, est de pouvoir comparer des domaines au sein d’un même appellation et ainsi mieux connaitre notre vignoble.
Pour les eaux de vie et spiritueux, c’est un exercice, certes plus technique et demandant plus de concentration, mais surtout un exercice passionnant et une source de découvertes et de voyages olfactifs.

Laurent DERHE

Meilleur Ouvrier de France Sommellerie 2007
Président de l’Association des Sommeliers Lyonnais et Rhône-Alpes

1