In 10 years, more than 34,000 wines have been tasted, judged and marked

21 March 2020


A constant increase in the number of samples presented demonstrates the confidence participants have in these distinctions. The competition has become well-known in France and abroad as a guarantee of quality.
The competition follows strict rules concerning its organisation, optimal storage conditions, wine classification based on numerous criteria (designation, vintage, grape varieties, etc.), blind tasting, verification of the tasters selected, a 100-point marking scale based on the OIV (International organisation of vine and wine) model, etc.
In addition, each year the Sommellerie Trophy is awarded to students who have chosen sommellerie as a specialty.

register

The Competition’s commitments


Jurors’ expertise

More information

Communication on all fronts

More information

Influential, committed partners

More information

Famous honorary presidents

More information

Official validation and verifications

More information

Marketing tools

More information

Professionals in the field guarantee conformity of the sample, while enlightened amateurs represent consumer tastes.

Testimonials


I have participated in the Lyon International Competition for many years. For me, what always comes to mind is the quality of the organisation and the rigorousness of the tasting. I think the medals awarded by this competition have real meaning. As a sommelier-wine merchant, the tasting is also an opportunity for me to discover new wines, broaden my knowledge and find new wines to add to my list.

Pierre GRENIER

Sommelier
Wine merchant - Metro

I participate in the Lyon International Competition as a sommelier because it’s a great opportunity to taste a lot of samples, and also to compare my own opinion with consumers’ assessments. The Competition is increasingly popular: I see more and more people marking the date on their calendars. Besides, the tasting is very enjoyable and I find it well organised.

Fabrice SOMMIER

Meilleur Ouvrier de France Sommellerie 2007, Master of Port 2010
Maître Sommelier de l’UDSF

As a wine professional?oenologist for more than thirty years and a winemaker as well I focus mainly on the wine growers' work and know-how, steering consumers in their purchases, and above all sharing all the pleasure that a wine can bring. Being a taster at the Lyon International Competition gives me an opportunity to select the ‘best’ wines, in terms of typicity and quality, so that consumers are never disappointed with a wine that carries the Competition’s medal.

Gérard ESTABLET

Winemaker
Oenologist

An incredible orchestra of tasters: that is what you see when you first enter the immense hall where the Lyon International Competition is held.
Each glass, each masked bottle, each spittoon is in its place, perfectly tuned and coordinated. All is precise, harmonious. When the symphony begins, there are no wrong notes, false starts or noise. The atmosphere is professional and the rythm just right: jurors concentrate on their tasting, glasses are tilted and turned, each person focuses on their own sensorial music score. One after the other, samples are methodically analysed and understood by the eye, nose and mouth, for each comment, each description, each mark. Respect for the product is always at the heart of this symphony of international taste buds. Sometimes all the jurors feel the same emotion at the same time; it’s a magic moment when time stands still and communication is spontaneous.
Only a few wines, sparkling wines, beers and spirits will be awarded medals in their categories.
It’s a wonderful experience for a taster and I highly recommend it.

Laurent BAUBY

Oenologist

1

En 10 ans, plus de 34 000 vins ont été dégustés, jugés et notés

21 mars 2020


La progression constante du nombre d’échantillons présentés dénote la confiance que les participants accordent à ces distinctions. Le concours s’est imposé en France et à l’international comme un gage de qualité.
Le concours répond à des règles strictes d’organisation, avec des conditions de stockages optimales, un classement des vins qui prend en comptes de nombreux critères (appellation, millésime, cépages…), une dégustation à l’aveugle, un contrôle des dégustateurs choisis, une grille de notation sur 100 inspirée de l’OIV…
De plus chaque année le trophée de la sommellerie est décerné aux étudiants en mention complémentaire.

s'inscrire

Les engagements du Concours


Expertise des jurés

En savoir plus

Une communication sur tous les fronts

En savoir plus

Des partenaires forts et impliqués

En savoir plus

Des présidents d'honneur de renom

En savoir plus

Validation officielle et contrôles

En savoir plus

Outils marketing

En savoir plus

Les professionnels de la filière garantissent la conformité de l’échantillon, les amateurs éclairés représentent le goût du consommateur.

Témoignages


Je participe au Concours International de Lyon depuis plusieurs années. Ce que je retiens, c'est la qualité de l'organisation, la rigueur de la dégustation. Pour moi les médailles de ce concours ont vraiment un sens. En tant que sommelier-caviste, ça me permet aussi de découvrir de nouveaux vins, d'élargir mes connaissances et de trouver de nouveaux vins à référencer.

Pierre GRENIER

Sommelier
Caviste - Metro

En tant que sommelier, je participe au Concours International de Lyon car c’est l’occasion de déguster beaucoup d’échantillons, mais aussi de confronter mon avis avec celui des consommateurs. Le Concours est un évènement qui monte, je vois de plus en plus de personnes le noter dans leur agenda avec intérêt. C’est une dégustation très agréable et à mon sens bien organisée.

Fabrice SOMMIER

Meilleur Ouvrier de France Sommellerie 2007, Master of Port 2010
Maître Sommelier de l’UDSF

En tant que professionnel du vin, Œnologue depuis plus de trente ans et vinificateur je cherche avant tout à mettre en avant le travail et le savoir-faire du vigneron, orienter le consommateur dans son acte d’achat, et surtout partager tout le plaisir que peut procurer un vin. Être dégustateur au Concours International de Lyon me permet de sélectionner les meilleurs vins dans leur typicité et dans leur qualité, afin que le consommateur ne soit jamais déçu d’avoir acheté une bouteille primée au Concours.

Gérard ESTABLET

Vigneron
œnologue

Un incroyable orchestre de dégustateurs : Voilà la première image quand on découvre l’immense salle du grand concours international de Lyon.
Chaque verre, chaque bouteille anonymée, chaque crachoir est à sa place, parfaitement accordé, ordonné, tout est précis, harmonieux. Lorsque la symphonie débute, pas de fausse note, pas de couac, pas de brouhaha, l’atmosphère est pro, avec un bon tempo, les jurés sont absorbés par la dégustation, les verres tournoient, chacun s’occupe de sa partition sensorielle. Les uns après les autres, les échantillons sont appréhendés méthodiquement par l’œil, le nez et la bouche, pour chaque commentaire, chaque description, chaque note. Le respect du produit est toujours au cœur de cette symphonie de papilles internationales. Parfois, l’émotion est au rendez-vous de façon unanime pour tous les jurés, moment magique où le temps est suspendu et le dialogue s’installe.
Seuls quelques vins, effervescents, bières ou spiritueux se verront récompensés et médaillés dans leur catégorie.
Une belle expérience de dégustateur que je recommande.

Laurent BAUBY

œnologue

1