69 categories of beer tasted

21 March 2020


The Lyon International Competition has 69 beer-tasting categories. These include: Top Fermentation Ale, Brown & Black Ale, Amber & Red Ale, Bottom Fermentation Lager, Stout/Porter, Wheat Beer, Flavoured Beer, Special Beer, etc.
The competition follows strict rules concerning its organisation, optimal storage conditions, classification of spirits based on numerous criteria, blind tasting, verification of the tasters selected, a 100-point marking scale, etc.
In addition, beginning in 2019 the competition will take filtration and IBU (International Bitterness Unit) into account in some of the tasting categories.

register

The Competition’s commitments


Jurors’ expertise

More information

Communication on all fronts

More information

Influential, committed partners

More information

Famous honorary presidents

More information

Official validation and verifications

More information

Marketing tools

More information

Professionals in the field guarantee conformity of the sample, while enlightened amateurs represent consumer tastes.

Testimonials


The organisers put incredible effort into the competition, and tasters feel their opinions are really taken into account. From one year to the next, the competition is made even better, particularly by taking feedback from tasters into account. The competition is committed to moving into the beer world, and in fact has sponsored my participation in the World Championship of Beer Sommeliers National.

Cyril HUBERT

Beer sommelier
Sommelier Suisse de la bière

A medal from the Lyon International Competition is important to brewers because it brings recognition and highlights the true worth of our beers. This tasting provides feedback from consumers, and above all from professionals—brewers and others in the CHR world. I also participate as a taster to discover new things!

Laurence LANGLOY

Brewer

An international beer sommelier and member of the French team of beer sommeliers, it was with great pleasure that I discovered the Lyon International Competition. Although the organisers are from the wine tasting world, they are able to adapt perfectly to the very special domain of beer taste analysis. Their openness of spirit and capacity to adapt have rapidly made the Lyon International Competition a key event in the beer brewing world.

Franck METIVIER

Beer sommelier, finaliste au Championnat du Monde des sommeliers de la bière en 2017

In 2015, March 1st was not just the first day of Spring. It was also another important 1st!
The Lyon International Competition, initially devoted to wines from France and around the world, was opened to beer on that day. Needless to say, the beer lovers who form the Lyon Cervoise Club--and me especially--were delighted with this important development. At a time when beer was just beginning to sow its hops in the kitchens and on the menus of fine restaurants, it took courage to attempt a brewing adventure in a city so enamoured of Beaujolais and Côtes du Rhône wines.
This first edition was quite a success. The organisation was impeccable, and the event provided a wonderful opportunity for us--defenders of our regional beers--to open up to other French beers and indeed beers from across the world. One table, four people, and on each table twenty+ beers to ‘put through their paces’ made for a simple and efficient tasting principle. From 150 beers for this first edition, entries grew to more than 600 for the 2018 competition. In the beginning, I crossed paths with just a few brewers, retailers and beer lovers at the tasting tables. Now I meet many brewers, talk with beer sommeliers from across Europe, and exchange views with increasingly knowledgeable amateurs. These are all signs of the quality of the Competition, and the importance of the medals it awards. And what can be said of the organisers’ welcome? Only that they show a level of courtesy that has become quite rare, and are always very attentive to tasters’ comments and needs. In four years, I have seen this Beer Competition evolve in a very positive direction... Not so easy, given the fact that everyone--from the competition’s organisers to its professional and amateur tasters--finds classifying the various types of beer an ongoing challenge. With varieties ranging from the palest blond to the darkest black, how could it be otherwise?
Participating in the Competition is very enjoyable, from the friendly morning greeting to the wine-laced finale when, after our work is done, we have an opportunity to enjoy some of the competition’s finest awarded wines.
Coming back is always a pleasure.

Michel RIMET

Secrétaire du Lyon Cervoise Club

1

69 catégories de bières dégustées

21 mars 2020


Le Concours International de Lyon propose 69 catégories de bières. Sont donc dégustées : Haute Fermentation Ale, Brune & Noire Ale, Ambrée & Rousse Ale, Basse Fermentation Lager, Stout/porter, Froment, Bière Aromatisée, Bière Spéciale …
Le concours répond à des règles strictes d’organisation, avec des conditions de stockages optimales, un classement des bières qui prend en comptes de nombreux critères, une dégustation à l’aveugle, un contrôle des dégustateurs choisis, une grille de notation sur 100 …
De plus à partir de 2019 le concours tient compte de l’IBU (International Bitterness Unit) pour certaines catégories dégustées et de la filtration.

s'inscrire

Les engagements du Concours


Expertise des jurés

En savoir plus

Une communication sur tous les fronts

En savoir plus

Des partenaires forts et impliqués

En savoir plus

Des présidents d'honneur de renom

En savoir plus

Validation officielle et contrôles

En savoir plus

Outils marketing

En savoir plus

Les professionnels de la filière garantissent la conformité de l’échantillon, les amateurs éclairés représentent le goût du consommateur.

Témoignages


L'investissement des organisateurs est incroyable, en tant que dégustateur on se sent vraiment considéré. D'une année sur l'autre, le concours se perfectionne, notamment en prenant en compte les retours des dégustateurs. Le Concours a vraiment à cœur de s'investir dans le monde brassicole, j'ai d'ailleurs été sponsorisé pour ma participation au « World Championship of Beer Sommeliers National ».

Cyril HUBERT

Biérologue
Sommelier Suisse de la bière

Pour nous brasseurs, avoir une médaille au Concours International de Lyon est une reconnaissance et une véritable mise en valeur de nos bières. Cette dégustation nous permet d'avoir un retour à la fois de consommateurs, mais surtout de professionnels, aussi bien brasseurs, que du monde CHR. Je participe également en tant que dégustatrice pour faire de nouvelles découvertes !

Laurence LANGLOY

Brasseur

Biérologue International, membre de l’équipe de France des Sommeliers de bière, ce fut avec grand plaisir que je découvris le Concours International de Lyon. Les organisateurs, déjà professionnels des dégustations de vin ont su parfaitement s’adapter au Monde si particulier de l’analyse gustative des bières. Leur ouverture d’esprit et leur capacité d’adaptation ont rapidement fait du concours International de Lyon un événement de référence incontournable dans l'univers brassicole.

Franck METIVIER

Biérologue, finaliste au Championnat du Monde des sommeliers de la bière en 2017

21 mars 2015, ce n’est pas que le printemps qui arrive, mais aussi, une grande première !
Le Concours International de Lyon (jusqu’alors consacré aux vins de France et du monde) s’ouvre à la bière ! Inutile de vous dire que les amateurs du Lyon Cervoise Club ont apprécié cette création importante, et moi encore plus ! A un moment où la bière commençait juste à poindre ses houblons dans les cuisines et sur les cartes des tables gourmandes, il était courageux, dans notre ville arrosée de Beaujolais et Côtes du Rhône, de tenter l’aventure brassicole.
Cette première fut une belle réussite. En dehors de l’occasion de découvrir une organisation hors pair, elle nous a permis de nous ouvrir, nous les tenants de nos bières régionales, aux bières nationales et mondiales. Une table, quatre personnes, et une grosse vingtaine de bières à ‘’auscultées’’. Un principe de dégustation simple et efficace. De 150 bières pour cette première, le concours est passé à plus de 600 pour l’édition 2018. Et si au début, je ne croisais aux diverses tables, que quelques brasseurs, revendeurs et amateurs, maintenant je rencontre de nombreux brasseurs, je devise avec les biérologues de l’Europe entière, et j’échange avec des amateurs de plus en plus affutés. Signes de reconnaissance de la qualité du Concours, et de l’importance des médailles accordées. Et que dire de l’accueil des organisateurs, d’une courtoisie devenue si rare, qui restent très à l’écoute des dégustateurs. Ainsi en quatre années j’ai pu voir évoluer ce Concours Bière d’une façon très positive… Chose pas si aisée quand on sait que la classification des différentes sortes de bières est un casse-tête permanent pour les organisateurs comme pour les dégustateurs et amateurs de ce liquide qui va du blond le plus pâle au noir le plus intense.
De l’accueil matinal et très sympathique à la finale très vinicole (le top des vins médaillés en dégustation, une fois notre tâche remplie), ce Concours est un réel moment de convivialité.
Y retournez, un plaisir.

Michel RIMET

Secrétaire du Lyon Cervoise Club

1